New Flight ; Creating a Wing ,and the Joy of Spring

Jolted into a place of spontaneous inspiration a few days ago, I have been on fire  in a creative surge with Springtime . All the Aries energy we have just passed has come  rushing into my fingers from my head . Now , with Taurus  now reigning  so lushly , at last , I need to sculpt , as if  a  whirlwing  and a flow are  moving through me .

In a recent  conversation about a possible sculpture commission I asked  the client why  the  piece was being  commissioned to be created . The answer was slow in coming . “My husband died a few years ago ,” the warm and clear voice on the  phone replied.

” I want this to be for him , honoring his life and passing , and for me , to be there  for  me , and our son , as an inspiration , going forward .”

I asked his sign, and birthday , as astrology is a part of my process in doing a personal commission especially one such as this . The answer chilled me. It was the same sign and simply it was a day away from my own . He was a Leo , and she is a Gemini – a spontaneous combustion of positivity exists between those two signs when they combine  that leads to a soaring  spirit . They  are creative , communicative and full of light . Together they would express that energy  to each other , and as a couple out to the world .

I simply wanted to make something very beautiful for this lady .

Sketches  had been requested , and after the call I was focused on my visions for the piece . It was a true challenge … an elegant , natural , inspirational piece . A grand soaring vision , on a low budget , but so beautiful , and it so moved me . I had lost  a sweet , dear friend to Lou Gehrig’ s Diease a few years ago . It is  a sad and painful crippling  illness that can often  strike the young , and my friend passed at 35 .

Right away , ideas  were flowing through my head , and started coming .  I wanted to create something that would make the spirit soar . And something that spoke of love . And a new life – going forward , as was requested  . I  sat down , and started to draw  , The sketches were coming out fast , and I started to really feel the pice . Several ideas started to gel into one vision , and the drawings were  working sketches .The drawings were flowing  with a life of their own and talking to me . The piece started coming together in my head . I could not wait to get it into my hands . The drawings were making me impatient . I did not want to labor over them . I wanted to create , and touch the clay , and shape the form , and speak to it .

Now I could  see the vision clearly .she had seen my large Winged bronzes ; figures in full or suggested partial flight . And was moved by them . I knew  what  I wanted to do .           ImageIt would not be easy … I had to somehow figure out how to create a large  magestic sculpture with the simplest , most limited resources . And use natural materials as much as possible .

A friend came over who is an impassioned painter . We spoke . He offered his help . He said , ” I will help you create this vision . I want to be a part of it  ” and so we got into his truck , and went out to buy clay . Image

We sat down , and he rolled the clay while I started to sculpt , and  the flow just kept going on into the night . It was such a pleasure to feel  the clay in my hands , and to touch it and shape it so easily , and to sense its’ immediate response . The clay shaped itself under my fingers as if by magic . It was flowing into the wing I was creating . each component I had designed just shaped itself  as if by magic under my fingers . My friend kept rolling , and coiling as I kept working , the pieces almost forming themselves like a dance . Image

It was late in the night when we stopped . I collapsed exhausted , barely  cleaning off the raw sienna  color of the clay that was  streaked all over my body . The next morning I  got up at very early to  photograph the sculpted pieces of Wing .

The process will be complex . Sculpting more , making moulds , experimenting with different materials , poring the materials , refining the casts … .then putting all the pieces together , finishing the patina , and working with other artists to weld and shape the metal supports , and create the base  .

I pray they come together beautifully, intact through the kiln ,  and the  firing into a  beautiful , strong base of the  Wing  in flight , that will be the first part of the long  process that will come together to create  a large and lovely   flowing sculpture . I hope that it will lift and inspire  the viewer  invoking    a new beginning , and a spirit  in joyous flight . ..

More of my sculpture may be seen under Wings of Desire on my website  www.natashavon.com _DSC8591

About Natasha Von Art and Photography

An impassioned artist, sculptor, designer and photographer, I combine painting and photography with a visionary astrological eye. View all posts by Natasha Von Art and Photography

Leave a Reply

