Sky Dancer … revelation

_DSC9561Sky DAncer

_DSC9622Day 1

Slowly, I lay the paint on; layer by layer. The painting accepts me; I have laid the ground lovingly. First a coat of glue on  the birch wood panels tinged with powdered tempera to give it a glow of color from within… Then the ancient recipe for gesso, cooked  until it is viscous and ready . I apply it  with a gentle mantra preparing the marble dust and chalk mixture, readying it to receive the painting I will create .

I apply layers of underpainting. Translucent glazes of lilac and copper. I paint intensely, the colour simply flows as if from my hands onto the canvas. I smooth it on with my palms , frustrated with brushes. My hands start to hurt, I sit back at last to look … The painting reveals itself.  I see it… A figure  is in the paint waiting to come out. Flying upwards as if rising. Full of lightness, it is a male figure suspended in a light filled world over a swirling sea.

I sculpt the wings that I see shaping themselves slowly as I go in a low bas relief, building what i see as a Wing in flight. There is an amazing flow… the  figure soars and I can not stop. The colour  flows and is alive with light, shining , almost too bright to behold …

 

Day 2

The piece is becoming powerful, magical, and  majestic. It is large, painted on two panels , 3 feet square . So it stands 3 feet by 6 feet tall – passionate rising and full of spirit .

I will soften the colors so the spirit does not burn with such intensity .

 His Wings do not catch fire
but they are wild and  full of beauty now .
Earth tones with flames , and a swirling sea and tide below ,
rising into flames and mists
full of mystery in shades so subtle they barely have names .
Overlays  of copper and gold.
The sun is misty yet aglow with fire., and the angel flies above the sun . 
The piece is taking shape. I have toned down the blazing colour. It has an  energy all  its  own  and almost  paints itself. It uses my hand to  come into being. I am an instrument and cannot stop painting . Am obsessed, and work from sunrise to darkness every day . Now it has created itself to what it wanted to be . A male figure clothed in veils of swirling energy and light . Rising above  waves of colour, poised in worlds of memory over the  oceans of time, passion and  peace all reflected in the golden rain  drops showering down from Heaven all around him  like an eternal benediction .

The light plays with the bas relief differently and the colours keep changing  from cold to warm with the time of day. . . The brilliance of  colour changes with the reflections and angles of light .

 

The asteroid Vanadis cried tears of red gold for her missing husband … She was prominent during the eclipse  when this  piece was conceived, and the painting is dazzling, as if detailed with golden tears, birthed between two eclipses, between Taurus and Gemini, in honour of a Leo whose wife is a poet. It is a story of love; about a man and a woman, about love, courage and devotion .

Her writing is beautiful.  I will add a line of her writing to finish the piece and more golden rain from Heaven .

There are 3 planets smiling in Gemini … the great  benifiics … the Sun, Venus  and Jupiter combining to rain down their blessings  upon those who hold up their arms and aprons to receive them, blessing  all that we bring into being through our actions and our dreaming.

Sky Dancer

About Natasha Von Art and Photography

An impassioned artist, sculptor, designer and photographer, I combine painting and photography with a visionary astrological eye. View all posts by Natasha Von Art and Photography

One response to “Sky Dancer … revelation

Leave a Reply

